Skip to Content
Tennessee Sports Concussion Law

Tennessee Sports Concussion Law

In April 2013, Tennessee became the 44th state to pass a sports concussion law designed to reduce youth sports concussions and increase awareness of traumatic brain injury. The legislation, Public Chapter 148, has three key components:

  1. To inform and educate coaches, youth athletes and their parents and require them to sign a concussion information form before competing.
  2. To require removal of a youth athlete who appears to have suffered a concussion from play or practice at the time of the suspected concussion.
  3. To require a youth athlete to be cleared by a licensed health care professional before returning to play or practice.

Both public and private school sports and recreational leagues for children under age 18 that require a fee are affected by the new law. The law covers all sports. This website contains all the resources coaches, youth athletes and parents need to fulfill the intent of the law.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, a concussion is a type of traumatic brain injury that changes the way the brain normally works. Most concussions occur without loss of consciousness. Athletes who have, at any point in their lives, had a concussion have an increased risk for another concussion. Young children and teens are more likely to get a concussion and take longer to recover than adults. The new concussion law is an opportunity to make playing sports safer for Tennessee’s young athletes.

Below you will find links for the required forms, trainings and guidelines that will equip coaches, parents and athletes to recognize and respond to sports related concussion.

Sample Policy

Coach Signature Form

Parent Athlete Signature Form

Concussion Checklist

Training Resources
The cost for this course is $5 and includes: a printable certificate and wallet card; inclusion in the searchable ConcussionWise Coaches Registry; access to course content for one year; and an automatic email reminder at renewal time.
The cost to complete certification with USA Football will range between $5 and $25 depending on your program's engagement level with their Heads up Football Program.